Skip to main content

Home >  The Cabinet >  List of Ministers

The Cabinet

List of Ministers

October 2, 2018

(Provisional Translation)

As of April 11, 2019

Shinzo ABE (R) Prime Minister
Taro ASO (R) Deputy Prime Minister
Minister of Finance
Minister of State for Financial Services
Minister in charge of Overcoming Deflation
Masatoshi ISHIDA (R) Minister for Internal Affairs and Communications
Minister of State for the Social Security and Tax Number System
Takashi YAMASHITA (R) Minister of Justice
Taro KONO (R) Minister for Foreign Affairs
Masahiko SHIBAYAMA (R) Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
Minister in charge of Education Rebuilding
Takumi NEMOTO (R) Minister of Health, Labour and Welfare
Minister in charge of Working-style Reform
Takamori YOSHIKAWA (R) Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Hiroshige SEKO (C) Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry
Minister in charge of Industrial Competitiveness
Minister in charge of International Exposition
Minister for Economic Cooperation with Russia
Minister in charge of the Response to the Economic Impact caused by the Nuclear Accident
Minister of State for the Nuclear Damage Compensation and Decommissioning Facilitation Corporation
Keiichi ISHII (R) Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism
Minister in charge of Water Cycle Policy
Yoshiaki HARADA (R) Minister of the Environment
Minister of State for Nuclear Emergency Preparedness
Takeshi IWAYA (R) Minister of Defense
Yoshihide SUGA (R) Chief Cabinet Secretary
Minister in charge of Mitigating the Impact of U.S. Forces in Okinawa
Minister in charge of the Abductions Issue
Hiromichi WATANABE (R) Minister for Reconstruction
Minister in charge of Comprehensive Policy Coordination for Revival from the Nuclear Accident at Fukushima
Junzo YAMAMOTO (C) Chairperson of the National Public Safety Commission
Minister in charge of Building National Resilience
Minister of State for Disaster Management
Mitsuhiro MIYAKOSHI (R) Minister for Promoting Dynamic Engagement of All Citizens
Minister in charge of Administrative Reform
Minister in charge of Civil Service Reform
Minister in charge of Territorial Issues
Minister of State for Okinawa and Northern Territories Affairs
Minister of State for Consumer Affairs and Food Safety
Minister of State for Measures for Declining Birthrate
Minister of State for Ocean Policy
Takuya HIRAI (R) Minister in charge of Information Technology Policy
Minister of State for "Cool Japan" Strategy
Minister of State for the Intellectual Property Strategy
Minister of State for Science and Technology Policy
Minister of State for Space Policy
Toshimitsu MOTEGI (R) Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy
Minister in charge of Social Security Reform
Minister in charge of TPP and Japan-U.S. Trade Negotiations
Satsuki KATAYAMA (C) Minister of State for Regional Revitalization
Minister of State for Regulatory Reform
Minister of State for Gender Equality
Minister in charge of Women's Empowerment
Minister in charge of Regional Revitalization
Shunichi SUZUKI (R) Minister for the Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games

Page Top

List of Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretaries Director-General of the Cabinet Legislation Bureau

Yasutoshi NISHIMURA (R) Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary
Kotaro NOGAMI (C) Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary
Kazuhiro SUGITA (-) Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary
Yusuke YOKOBATAKE (-) Director-General of the Cabinet Legislation Bureau

"[R]" indicates that he/she is a member of the House of Representatives.
"[C]" indicates that he/she is a member of the House of Councillors.

Page Top