IT Policy

e-Japan Priority Policy Program

March 29, 2001


I. Basic Policy

II. Formation of the World's Most Advanced Information and Telecommunications Networks

III.Promotion of Education/learning and Human Resources Development

IV.Facilitation of Electronic Commerce

V. Digitization of the Administration and Utilization of IT in Other Public Areas

VI. Ensuring of Security and Reliability over Advanced Information and Telecommunications Networks

VII. Crosscutting Issues



II. Future Vision in Each Area

Remarks: Abbreviations in the Priority Policy Program indicate the following ministries and agencies.

NPA: National Police Agency
JDA: Defense Agency
MPHPT: Ministry of Public Management, Home Affairs, Posts and Telecommunications
MOJ: Ministry of Justice
MOFA: Ministry of Foreign Affairs
MOF: Ministry of Finance
MEXT: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
MECS: Former Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports
MHLW: Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare
MAFF: Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
METI: Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry
MLIT: Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transport
MOE: Ministry of the Environment