(Provisional Translation)

Establishment of the Emergency Anti-Terrorism Headquarters

Cabinet decision
October 8, 2001

1.In order to forcefully advance comprehensive and effective emergency measures against terrorism the Emergency Anti-Terrorism Headquarters (hereinafter referred to as "the Headquarters") will be established within the Cabinet Office.

2.The Headquarters will be comprised of the following members. However, when deemed necessary, the Chief of the Headquarters will appoint additional members.

Chief of the Headquarters: Prime Minister
Deputy-Chief of the Headquarters: Chief Cabinet Secretary
Members:: Minister of Public Management, Home Affairs, Posts and Telecommunications
Minister of Justice
Minister for Foreign Affairs
Minister of Finance
Minister of Education, Culture, Sport, Science, and Technology
Minister of Health, Labor, and Welfare
Minister of Agriculture, Forestry, and Fisheries
Minister of Economy, Trade, and Industry
Minister of Land, Infrastructure, and Transport
Minister of Environment
Minister of State for Disaster Prevention, Chairman of the National Public Safety Commission
Minister for State for Defense
Minister of State for Okinawa and Northern Territories Affairs, Science and Technology Policy
Minister of State for Financial Services Agency
Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy
Minister of State for Administrative Reform and Regulatory Reform

3.The Meetings of the Headquarters will be attended by the Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretaries (both parliamentary and administrative), the Director-General of Cabinet Legislation Bureau and the Deputy Chief Cabinet Secretary for Crisis Management.

4.A Secretary will be appointed within the Headquarters. The Secretary will be a civil servant of one of the relevant administrative organizations and designated by the Chief of the Headquarters.

5.The administrative matters of the Headquarters will be handled by the Cabinet Secretariat with the cooperation of the relevant administrative organizations.

6.In addition to the matters stipulated in the above items, any matters pertaining to the operations of the Headquarters and any other necessary matters will be decided upon by the Chief of the Headquarters.